Uncle Daniel Reviews The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis
The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

What can be said of so wonderful a series that hasn’t been said already?  Even to review The Chronicles of Narnia feels like an act of arrogance.

Read them.  I’ll say that.  Read them.

All right, I’ll say a little more.  Start with The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, the first published in the series.

In it, the four Pevensie children, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy, are swept into the magical world of Narnia through an ordinary-seeming wardrobe while on holiday in the country.  Here begins an enchanting adventure that has touched the hearts and edified the souls of a generation.  Here Edmund learns the grave cost of sin and treachery and the incomparable value of forgiveness.  Here the reader, through Lucy and Susan, experiences the great loss and greater gain of Christ’s sacrifice through the person of Aslan, the Lion-lord of Narnia and the Son of the Emperor over the Sea.  Here Peter learns what it is to be a king in submission to the King.

No other series, I dare say, has done more to reclaim the hearts of an increasingly forlorn and secularized Western civilization than this has done.  Of all the good spells to be found, these are surely the greatest.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s